Welcome to the Helix Charter High School Governing Board page. Here you will find links to the most recent board agenda as well as previous minutes from board meetings.

A nine member Charter Governing Board, consisting of parents, staff and community members, is empowered to make school wide policy decisions. School wide policy includes, but is not limited to: graduation requirements, admission standards, attendance policies, school calendar, general and fiscal oversight and annual budget approval. Moreover, the Helix Charter Governing Board is also responsible for appointing, evaluating, compensating and, when necessary, replacing the Executive Director.

Instructional Materials Public Hearing for Fiscal Year held annually at September meeting. E.C. 60119. 

The Helix Governing Board consists of nine voting members. The voting members are:
Three Staff Members (elected by a vote of the Helix Charter High School staff)
- 1 Classified Staff Representative
- 2 Certificated Staff Representatives

Four Parent/Community Members (elected by the parents of current Freshmen, Sophomore, and Junior students)
- 2 Parent Representatives
- 2 Community Representatives

One PTSA Member (selected by Helix PTSA)
-1 PTSA Representative

One District Member (if the district elects not to exercise its right to place a representative on the Charter Governing Board, then one additional Community Member shall be selected by a majority vote of the current Parent and Community Members)
- 1 District or Community Representative

The Helix Charter Governing Board also includes non-voting members:
- Executive Director
- Management Team
- 2 Student Representatives (selected by Student Council)

Contact Information:
All Charter Board members can be contacted via email or mail. To email a board member, please view Board Members links.

Mailing Address:
Helix Charter High School
c/o HCHS Charter Governing Board
7323 University Ave
La Mesa, CA 91942

Charter Board Members:

Elizabeth Berg, through March 2018 

Community Member


Peggy Crabtree, through March 2018

Classified Member/Board Secretary


Amanda Dolphin, through March 2020

Certificated Staff Member


Lauren Gillihan, through March 2018

PTSA Representative Member


Cory Henry, through March 2020

Parent Member


Jenine Henry, through March 2019

Community Member



Dan Northcutt, through through March 2020

Community Member


Kevin Osborn 

Executive Director


Jennifer Underwood - Board Chairperson, through March 2019

Certificated Member 



David Yeager - Board Vice-Chairperson, through March 2019

Parent Member



Student Representatives

Ashley Knuteson

Gabriel Salztman